Centre International de Recherche

sur l’Environnement et le Développement


Supervisory authorities

CNRS Ecole des Ponts CIRAD EHESS AgroParisTech

Our partners

R2DS MPDD FUTURS URBAINS LCS-R Net

Search




Home > IMACLIM > Research Thematics > Sectoral impact and climate policy

Sectoral impact and climate policy


The objective of this research axis is to develop tool which integrates enough sectoral details to conduct studies on competitiveness issues and environmental efficiency.


In a globalization context, the consequences of asymmetric carbon constraints on industries competitiveness – in particular the energy-intensive and trade-exposed industries (EITE)- and on carbon leakage drive concern and often come up in the debate. Although the value-added of these industries represents a small fraction of the industrialised countries’ GDP, their production remains highly strategic, and the power of industrial lobbies has already proven to be decisive regarding any attempt to implement ambitious environmental actions.


If partial equilibrium models bring high details on some keys EITE sectors (as cement and steel sectors) and use relevant empirical information to analyse specific competitiveness constraints facing by those sectors, computable General Equilibrium models often represent the economic system in a more aggregated way.
By taking advantage of the IMACLIM data hybridization procedure, we aim to isolate some sectors of their initial aggregates while integrating physical data. It represents a twofold opportunity: (i) to go beyond previous disaggregation techniques based only on economic data, (ii) to calibrate our modelling framework on sectoral granularity, relevant enough to assess the sectoral impacts of a carbon policy.


A gain in sectoral granularity makes it possible to establish a dialogue with different economic agents, and at various scales: from a macro level (impacts on employment, debt, etc.) to a more precise level (stakeholders of some industrial sectors). It is then possible to clarify, sector by sector, the values given to some controversial parameters (elasticity of external trade, wage curve) of IMACLIM framework, yet key in the macroeconomic and sectoral outcomes of a climate policy analysis.
In the end, we can better detect the nature of mechanisms at play, and understand competitiveness issues at stake while giving insights on the sectoral distributive effects of the environmental policy (a unilateral carbon tax for instance).


So far, these issues have been arisen relying on the IMACLIM-country model, for the French case, but hold for all the economies.


Contacts:
Gaëlle Le Treut:letreut@centre-cired.fr
Jean-Charles Hourcade: hourcade@centre-cired.fr


References
- Le Treut G, Combet E., 2017. Climate policy design and the competitiveness of the French industry: A Computable General Equilibrium Analysis, Les cahiers de la chaire, Working Paper N°2016–06–24

Centre International de Recherche

sur l’Environnement et le Développement


Nos tutelles

CNRS Ecole des Ponts CIRAD EHESS AgroParisTech

Nos partenaires

R2DS MPDD FUTURS URBAINS LCS-R Net

Rechercher




Accueil > IMACLIM > Thèmes de recherche > Impact sectoriel et politique climatique

Impact sectoriel et politique climatique


Le but de ce programme de recherche est de développer un outil qui intègre suffisamment de détails sectoriels pour mener des études sur les problèmes de compétitivité et d’efficacité environnementale d’une politique climatique.


Dans un contexte de mondialisation, les conséquences de contraintes environnementales asymétriques sur la compétitivité des industries – en particulier celles à forte consommation d’énergie et exposées au commerce international (EITE)-, et sur les fuites de carbone sont des préoccupations qui reviennent souvent dans le débat. Bien que la valeur ajoutée des industries intensive en énergie représente une petite fraction du PIB des pays industrialisés, leur production reste hautement stratégique et le pouvoir des lobbies industriels s’avère souvent décisif dans toutes tentatives de mise en place de mesures environnementales ambitieuses.


Si les modèles d’équilibre partiel apportent un détail important sur certains secteurs clés (comme les secteurs du ciment et de l’acier), et utilisent des informations empiriques pertinentes pour analyser les contraintes de compétitivité spécifiques à ces secteurs, les modèles d’équilibre général décrivent parfois une économie trop agrégée pour intégrer une hétérogénéité des comportements qui soit pertinente.
En s’appuyant sur la procédure d’hybridation de données IMACLIM, nous cherchons à isoler certains secteurs de leurs agrégats initiaux tout en intégrant des données physiques. Cela représente une double opportunité : (i) aller au-delà des techniques de désagrégation précédentes basées uniquement sur des données économiques, (ii) calibrer notre modèle sur une granularité sectorielle suffisamment pertinente pour évaluer les impacts sectoriels d’une politique carbone.


Cette granularité permet d’établir un dialogue avec les différents agents économiques, et ce à différentes échelles : d’un niveau macro (impacts sur l’emploi, dette, etc.) à un niveau plus précis (représentant des différents secteurs industriels). Il est ensuite possible de clarifier, secteur par secteur, les valeurs données à certains paramètres controversés (élasticité du commerce extérieur, courbe salaire-chômage) de la modélisation IMACLIM, mais essentiels dans la teneur des résultats macroéconomiques et sectoriels d’une analyse de la politique climatique.
En fin de compte, nous pouvons mieux détecter la nature des mécanismes en jeu, et, mieux comprendre les enjeux de la compétitivité tout en donnant un aperçu des effets distributifs de la politique environnementale comme la taxe unilatérale sur le carbone.


Jusqu’à présent, ces problématiques sont soulevées en utilisant le modèle IMACLIM-pays, appliqué au cas français, mais elles demeurent pour toutes les économies.


Contacts :
Gaëlle Le Treut : letreut(at)centre-cired.fr
Jean-Charles Hourcade : hourcade@centre-cired.fr


Références
- Le Treut G, Combet E., 2017. Climate policy design and the competitiveness of the French industry : A Computable General Equilibrium Analysis, Les cahiers de la chaire, Working Paper N°2016–06–24